Tuesday, January 09, 2007

This is probably my busiest week of the year at work, so posts will be short for the next few days.

I was pleased to see the baseball writers kept Mark McGwire out of the Hall of Fame. Only about 23% of the writers voted for McGwire, which shows me that the "cheaters never prosper" ethic is still out there.

It'll be interesting to see what happens with McGwire next year. Will some writers vote for him after "penalizing" him by keeping him out of the Hall on the first ballot? Or does he slowly lose support over the years? It'll be interesting to see what happens.

Congratulations to Cal Ripken and Tony Gwynn for getting in. I was disappointed to see that Jim Rice didn't make it again. I still think he's deserving. And if Bruce Sutter is in, there's no question that Rich Gossage and Lee Smith should be in the Hall as well.

It's a very weak class next year - there are no obvious first ballot guys becoming eligible, so maybe some of these guys who are on the bubble will get the support they need to get in next year.


Post a Comment

<< Home

eXTReMe Tracker